How to get a Motorcycle License in VA? What is it like?

How to get a Motorcycle License in VA? To get a Virginia motorcycle license, you need to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit and wait either 30 days or 9 months, depending on your age. Then, passing the motorcycle road skills test will grant you a motorcycle license, which will show as an “M,” “M2,” or “M3” under “Class” on your Virginia license.

Motorcycles are an economical method of travel—especially when the weather’s nice and the roads are nicer.

But in order to legally drive a motorcycle in Virginia, you need a motorcycle license. Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can help you do that—and we’ll walk you through all the steps to get there.

Whether you want to compare Virginia car insurance costs or get set up with Virginia motorcycle insurance, look no further than Jerry, the car insurance super app. And we’ve also got you covered on how to get a motorcycle license in Virginia — tests to take, fees to pay, and what the types of license options are. Read on to learn more.

How to get a Motorcycle License in VA?

If you want to ride a motorcycle in Virginia, you must:

  • Age of sixteen or older.
  • Complete a motorcycle safety course that has been certified by Virginia’s DMV.
  • Pass the DMV office’s motorcycle knowledge and abilities tests.

For motorcyclists who are 21 years of age or older, the motorcycle safety course is not necessary. To learn how to ride a motorbike safely, it is still a good idea to enroll in the course.

See also  Where are Indian motorcycles made? Are Indian motorbike good

There are 25 questions in the multiple-choice motorbike knowledge test. To pass the test, you must respond properly to at least 20 questions.

The questions address issues like:

  • Motorcycle operation and controls
  • Motorcycle protection
  • Virginia road regulations

You must show that you can ride a motorbike safely in order to pass the practical motorcycle skills test. Exercises for the test include turning, shifting gears, and starting and stopping.

You will receive a Class M motorbike license if you have fulfilled all the requirements.

Here are the procedures for obtaining a motorbike license in Virginia:

  • Take a course in motorcycle safety. On the DMV website, you may find a list of motorcycle safety courses that have been approved.
  • Make an appointment for a knowledge and skills test at a DMV location. You can call the DMV or book your test online.
  • Take the test of knowledge. To pass the test, you must respond properly to at least 20 questions.
  • Take the exam on talents. To obtain a motorbike license, you must pass the skills test.
  • I’ve paid the application cost. A motorcycle license application costs $50.

You will receive a Class M motorcycle license after passing the knowledge and skills tests.

The following are some additional considerations for obtaining a motorbike license in Virginia:

  • In Virginia, you have to always wear a helmet when riding a motorcycle.
  • Motorcycles are allowed to travel at a maximum speed of 65 mph on freeways and 55 mph on all other roadways.
  • All traffic regulations, such as the rules of the road, stop signs, and traffic lights, must be followed.
  • You cannot drive after drinking.
See also  How fast can a motorcycle go? What's motorcycle displacement

Virginia has harsh consequences for breaking the law on the road. For instance, if you are found driving without a helmet, you may be subject to a $50 fine.

When riding a motorcycle in VA, it’s critical to be aware of the local traffic conditions and to follow the law. You can contribute to ensuring both your own and others’ safety by doing this.

 Motorcycle License in VA

How to get a motorcycle-only license in Virginia

If you only drive a motorcycle and have no intention of driving a car, you might want a motorcycle-only license. In Virginia, your license will indicate you are restricted to motorcycles only by designating a “6” under “Restriction” on your license.

Getting a motorcycle-only license in Virginia is pretty simple! The steps are the same as those for getting an M Class designation on your license, but you’ll also need to pass a driver’s license knowledge exam. This is essentially the exam a driver takes when getting a learner’s permit without the driving exam.

How to save on car and motorcycle insurance in Virginia

One additional benefit of driving a motorcycle? Motorcycle insurance is often cheaper than car insurance.

But if you drive a motorcycle and a car in Virginia, you could be looking at some high monthly dues. You’re best off using Jerry to help you locate an affordable car insurance policy in Virginia.

Jerry’s process is simple — just download our trustworthy app, answer a few quick questions, and start shopping! We use top-of-the-line technology to scan through your personalized policies from over 55 providers and bring you the ones that make the most sense for your budget and coverage needs.

See also  How to jump start a motorcycle? (Step-by-Step Guide)

If you decide to make the switch with Jerry, we’ll handle all the boring calls and paperwork to get you good to go with your new provider. And we can help you cancel your old policy too!

If the convenience isn’t enough to convince you, the savings should be. Our average user saves over $800/year on their car insurance.

Motorcycle License in VA

How to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Virginia driver’s license

There are a few simple steps for adding a motorcycle endorsement to your Virginia driver’s license, but they vary slightly depending on whether you are over or under 18 years of age.

Here’s what you need to do to add that “Class M” designation to your license in Virginia if you are 18 years or older:

  • Take (and pass) a 25-question motorcycle knowledge exam. You can take this test at your local DMV. Passing the exam will grant you a motorcycle learner’s permit.
  • Pass a vision screening to ensure you are safe to legally operate a motorized vehicle.
  • Hold your motorcycle learner’s permit for at least 30 days.
  • Pass the motorcycle road skills test.

If you are under 18, these steps are all the same except that you must hold your permit for at least 9 months rather than 30 days.
Luckily, the cost of getting a motorcycle license in Virginia is low. You’ll pay $3.00 to get a motorcycle learner’s permit and $2.00 per year to have a motorcycle class designation on your license.

 Motorcycle License in VA

Above is information about How to get a Motorcycle License in VA? What is it like?. Hopefully, through the above content, you have a more detailed understanding of Motorcycle License in VA. Thank you for reading our post.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *